A Success …

Energy in Alaska 2012_Page_1With thanks to my Co-Chair Mark Johnson, the General Counsel of Chugach Electric Association, the Eighth Annual (2012) Energy in Alaska conference closed yesterday as another success.  Yesterday’s panels included Senator Cathy Giessel, Department of Natural Resources Commissioner Dan Sullivan, Department of Environmental Conservation Commissioner Larry Hartig, Alaska Oil & Gas Commission Chair Cathy Foerster, Alaska Energy Authority Deputy Director Gene Therriault, Brent Petrie from the Alaska Village Electric Cooperative and Steve Pratt from Anchorage Mayor Dan Sullivan’s Energy Task Force, along with a number of lawyers in private practice.

The day before we were privileged to have Rep. Bob Herron, ML&P General Manager Jim Posey, MEA General Manager Joe Griffith, Dave Haugen, Director, Project Management of the Alaska Gasline Development Corp.  Jim Strandberg, also  from the AEA, Dr. Paul Carpenter, Chairman and Principal of the Brattle Group and Damian Bilbao from BP, again along with a number of lawyers in private practice.

Alaska OCS Development (Dec 3)As part of the Alaska OCS panel, I gave an update on the current status of Alaska OCS oil & gas development from the investor’s perspective.  The slides are available by clicking on the picture to the left.

The conference is unique in that it seeks to touch on the full range of energy issues facing Alaska — oil & gas development, coal, electricity and renewables — from both urban and rural perspectives.  We are already planning the 2013 conference.

Comments are closed.